Administrative Systems Steering Committee

Launched in the spring of 2016, the Administrative Systems Steering Committee (ASSC) works collaboratively to enable the Institute vision of streamlined and user-centric campus-wide digital business systems and processes working seamlessly with in-person experiences to support MIT’s mission. The Steering Committee plays an important role in advancing digital business transformation by guiding system development in a holistic manner to provide the best possible administrative computing experience for the MIT community.  

Our role

  • To guide administrative system development to provide best possible computing experience for MIT community
  • Align efforts across administrative and academic areas
    • Assure balanced portfolio of work
  • Achieve consensus on priorities for admin system development
  • Maintain awareness of ongoing work
    • Refine directions as needed and assure continuous progress
  • Evaluate technology experiments and pilots
    • Endorse those to scale MIT-wide


Christine Albertelli, Vice President for Finance
Pia Handsom, Department of Brain and Cognitive Sciences
Robin Elices, Office of the Executive Vice President and Treasurer (co-chair)
Josh Freedman, Institute for Soldier Nanotechnologies
Ken Goldsmith, School of Architecture + Planning
Ron Hasseltine, Office of the Provost
Marc Jones, School of Humanities, Arts and Social Science
Eamon Kearns, Information Systems & Technology
John Letchford, Sloan
Doreen Morris, Office of the Provost (co-chair)
Gerry O’Toole, Vice President for Finance
Michael Parkin, Campus Construction / Facilities
Wayne Turner, Human Resources
Heather Williams, School of Science
Carol Wood, Office of Sponsored Programs


Robin Elices
(617) 324-4603