Administrative Officers

Last updated in December 2017. To provide an update for this directory listing, please email

Administrative Officers (AOs), Assistant Directors, and AO Equivalents
DLC Area Name/Email
Admissions Office Dean for Undergraduate Education Edmund Jones
Aeronautics and Astronautics Engineering Brian O’Conaill
Anthropology Program Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences Amberly Steward
Architecture Architecture and Planning Andreea O'Connell
Biological Engineering Engineering Roni Dudley-Cowans
Biology Science Rebecca Chamberlain
Brain and Cognitive Sciences Science Pia Handsom
Center for Advanced Urbanism Architecture and Planning Prudence Robinson
Center for Education Computing Initiatives Office of Provost Maria Karatzas
Center for Environmental Health Sciences Vice President for Research Amanda Tat
Center for Information Systems Research Sloan Christine Foglia    
Center for International Studies Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences John Congdon
Center for Materials Science and Engineering Vice President for Research Susan Dalton
Center for Real Estate Architecture and Planning Lisa M. Thoma
Center for Transportation & Logistics Engineering Mary Mahoney
Chemical Engineering Engineering Brian Tavares
Chemistry Science Rich Wilk
Civil and Environmental Engineering Engineering Angela Mickunas
Comparative Media Studies/Writing Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences Sarah Smith
Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory Engineering Carmen Popovici
D-Lab Dean for Undergraduate Education Richard Brewer
Division of Comparative Medicine Vice President for Research Bruce Brown
Earth, Atmospheric and Planetary Sciences / CGCS Science Michael Richard
Economics Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences Lisa Desforge
Edgerton Center Dean for Undergraduate Education Sandra Lipnoski
Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Engineering Irene Huang
Environment, Health & Safety Office EHS Headquarters Nadia Morrison
Global Studies and Languages Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences Elouise Evee-Jones
Gordon Engineering Leadership Program/UPOP Engineering Eliana Runyon
Haystack Observatory Vice President for Research Melanie Straight
History Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences Mabel Chin Sorett
Institute for Data, Systems and Society Engineering Jennifer Kratochwill
Institute for Medical Engineering and Science Engineering Erin Edwards
Institute for Soldier Nanotechnologies Vice President for Research Josh Freedman
Kavli Institute for Astrophysics and Space Research Science Jack Defandorf
Koch Institute of Integrative Cancer Research Vice President for Research Cindy Quense
Laboratory for Information and Decision Systems Engineering Debbie Wright
Lab for Manufacturing and Productivity Engineering David Rodriguera
Laboratory for Nuclear Science Science Karen Dow
Leaders for Global Operations Engineering Joshua S. Jacobs
Legatum Center for Development and Entrepreneurship Sloan Anna Omura
Laboratory for Information and Decision Systems Engineering Rich Lay
Lemelson-MIT Program Engineering Betsy Boyle
Linguistics & Philosophy Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences Mary Grenham
Literature Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences Alicia Mackin
Masdar Institute Cooperative Program Office of the Provost Paul Arsenault
Materials Processing Center Engineering Gil Cordova
Materials Science and Engineering Engineering Magdalena Rieb
Mathematics Science Nan Lin
McGovern Institute for Brain Research Office of Provost Gayle Lutchen
Mechanical Engineering Engineering John Maher (interim)
Media Lab Architecture and Planning Martha J. Collins
Microsystems Technology Laboratories Engineering Sherene Aram
MIT Masdar Institute Cooperative Program   Paul Arsenault
MIT-Portugal Program Engineering Jennifer Kratochwill
MIT Program in Women's & Gender Studies Humanities, Arts & Social Sciences Emily Neill
MIT-SUTD Collaboration Office of Provost Jesse DeLaughter
Music and Theater Arts Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences Michelle Carmichael
Nuclear Reactor Laboratory Vice President for Research Rose Rizzo (interim)
Nuclear Science and Engineering Engineering Peter Brenton
Office of Dean for Graduate Education Chancellor Keiko Tanaka
Division of Student Life Vice President and Dean for Student Life Peter Cummings
Office of Dean for Undergraduate Education Chancellor Jeanne Hillery
Office of Digital Learning Chancellor Lisa Schwallie
Office of the President President & Chairman of the Corporation Ann F. McNamara
OpenCourseWare Office of Digital Learning Maria Karatzas
Physics Science Matt Cubstead
Picower Institute for Learning and Memory Science William Lawson
Plasma Science and Fusion Center Vice President for Research Tom Hrycaj
Political Science Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences Maria DiMauro
Program in Art, Culture and Technology Architecture and Planning Marion O Cunningham
Program in Science, Technology, and Society Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences Paree Pinkney
Research Laboratory of Electronics Vice President for Research Richard Petruzzelli
Sea Grant College Program Vice President for Research Tim Downes
School of Engineering Engineering Mary Ellen Sinkus
School of Engineering Engineering John Maher
Singapore-MIT Alliance for Research and Technology Vice President for Research Jocelyn Sales
Sociotechnical Systems Research Center Engineering Stephanie Toews-Moeling
Sloan School of Management Sloan Heather Finney
Supply Chain Management Program Engineering Mary Mahoney
System Design and Management Program Engineering Triet Nguyen
Technology and Development Program Vice President for Research Pat Vargas
Urban Studies & Planning Architecture and Planning Karen Yegian
Woods Hole Joint Program in Oceanography Vice President for Research Kris Kipp